Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post Reply
itsacbx
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:43 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Contact:

Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by itsacbx »

hey all,
Now that I have my bike running close to perfect, Im looking to improve the running gear a little.......
I priced out a 630 chain [$220CAD] and started to think that surely 530 chain will be more than enough what with the improvements in chain technology since 1979. And I see a few posts about 530 so it must be an OK change.......
So my question is what do I need to convert to 530 chain, remembering that my engine is a 80, everything else is 79.
Al

steve murdoch icoa #5322
ICOA Member
ICOA Member
Posts: 4074
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:12 am
Location: St. Catharines, On. Canada
Location: St. Catharines, On. Canada

Re: Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by steve murdoch icoa #5322 »

Lots of previous threads on the subject.
CBXPerformance will have what you need.
https://www.cbxperformance.com/oscommerce/

daves79x
ICOA Technical Director
ICOA Technical Director
Posts: 4750
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 8:05 am
Location: Knox, PA
Location: Knox, PA

Re: Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by daves79x »

In addition, call Louis for the cushion system on the countershaft sprocket, and also a set of '80 chain adjusters. You can just swap chain and sprockets, but the other parts will make it complete.

Dave

itsacbx
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:43 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by itsacbx »

My bike is presently running 16 front, 35 teeth on the rear and I cant find any references to those size sprockets.....
Is this normal?
Im running all 79 frame and wheels, and an 80 motor....
The 80 motor is in place while I rebuild my 79 motor, then it will go in and Ill probably sell the 80 motor.
I have to admit I didnt know there was a difference between the 79 and 80 bikes.....I thought the changes all took place for the 81 model.
Al

daves79x
ICOA Technical Director
ICOA Technical Director
Posts: 4750
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 8:05 am
Location: Knox, PA
Location: Knox, PA

Re: Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by daves79x »

There are over 120 differences between the '79 and '80 models.

Dave

itsacbx
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:43 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by itsacbx »

yep now I know some of them......
Ive sorted the chain and sprocket issue with the purchase of new parts. Its should smooth out power delivery significantly as the original front sprocket was well-worn and past its use-by date.
As usual thanks for the input....
Al

itsacbx
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:43 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by itsacbx »

yup, all done - new gearing of 18/36 gives me about 200rpm lower at the legal speed limit, but most noticeably each gear is just that little bit longer making the bike much smoother....
and the 520 chain set was a great upgrade.
Al

steve murdoch icoa #5322
ICOA Member
ICOA Member
Posts: 4074
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:12 am
Location: St. Catharines, On. Canada
Location: St. Catharines, On. Canada

Re: Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by steve murdoch icoa #5322 »

Glad you are happy with the gearing choice.
Don't know if it is typos but did you install a 530 or 520 chain?

itsacbx
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:43 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: Converting a 79 to 520 chain

Post by itsacbx »

yes, 530.....

Post Reply

Return to “X ...OTHER TECHNICAL: Won't Run, Centerstands, Chains, Fairings, Tanks, Gauges, Petcocks, Seats, Turn Signals, etc.”