How-to: CBX Gauge restoration - tips, techniques, suppliers, tutorial

NobleHops
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

How-to: CBX Gauge restoration - tips, techniques, suppliers, tutorial

Post by NobleHops »

This may take twice as long to write up and post as it did to do it today but here's a tutorial on how I converted a set of super nice Prolink gauges for use on my 1980 "Bitsa Bike" project. This will cover pretty much every skill and supplier that a restoration project would, so I hope it's useful for both projects.

This is my patient - a super nice, pretty much unused set of gauges from a 81-82 Honda CBX "Prolink". I can't for the life of me recall who it was that more or less gifted these to me, but I have been hoarding them for several years. Similar to the 1980 bike I am working with, the Prolink CBX also had the curious 80 MPH speedometer of the early 80s, making this set an excellent candidate for conversion to use on my 1980 "Bitsa Bike" project, where I am taking an assemblage of parts I have collected and hoarded for several years and building a mild custom CBX from them.

That project can be found here http://www.cbxclub.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 02&t=12146 on this forum.

Here's that bike as I tore into this project today. It's substantially together, and I am completing the wiring now before installing the carburetors and uprighting the engine.

...and here are the excellent hoarded gauges:

There are a couple of issues that prevent me from using these gauges as is - the main one is that in 1981 Honda switched over to a more compact size of the Sumitomo connectors they had used throughout the early years of the DOHCs and so these won't plug into my bike's wiring.