No top on Airbox

Post Reply
Stevo
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:09 pm
Location: Grafton NSW Australia
Location: Grafton NSW Australia

No top on Airbox

Post by Stevo »

Hi guys just wondering what you guys think about running stock carb setup but without the top on the airbox, the reason I don't have the top is when I bought the bike it didn't have one. The bike runs OK but seat of the pants feel tells me it is a little lean. A guy with a CBX told me that it makes a big difference to how it runs by not having it. To me the std filter will straighten the air flow and turbulence will not be an issue, if you think otherwise you will have to explain why it would make any difference.

steve murdoch icoa #5322
ICOA Member
ICOA Member
Posts: 3747
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 10:12 am
Location: St. Catharines, On. Canada
Location: St. Catharines, On. Canada

Re: No top on Airbox

Post by steve murdoch icoa #5322 »

I am surprised it is not running a lot lean.
Does it have the stock jetting? What do the plugs look like?
Have a read through this thread on airbox lids.
viewtopic.php?f=20&t=8235&hilit=airbox+lid

daves79x
ICOA Technical Director
ICOA Technical Director
Posts: 4192
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 8:05 am
Location: Knox, PA
Location: Knox, PA

Re: No top on Airbox

Post by daves79x »

Just bite the bullet and get a lid. It will run lean without one. I know, they are ridiculously expensive.

Dave

Post Reply

Return to “CARBS: Cleaning, Rebuilding, Swaps, Aftermarket, Tuning, Syncing, and More”