1982 CBX Project,

Hey, what projects are you planning or preparing for? CBX, other motos, workshop, WHATEVAH!
Marten
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

1982 CBX Project,

Post by Marten »

Hello from Sweden.

My intent is to update this tread as i am progressing in my project.

I bought the bike in september, it has been sitting for 22 years. The tank has holes in it, silencers are toast, brakes is stuck and bad comp on 2 cylinders (said PO). Whats not to like :D

This is my first project som i am in deep here=)

Now that i have had the bike for some time there is both good and bad news, more on that later.

I have found this site as a great source for info and knowledge.

I have found lots of answers on my questions here and i have also looked on a vast amount of cbx videos on yuotube=) Digital pizza and Zams channel has helped me alot.
IMG_4473[1].PNG
Her it is complete with fairing and bags. I dosn´t look so supersport to me =)

I started with removing the head, cams and journal are plastigaged and are in spec. Sorry to say someone used a screwdriver or similar to remove nr 5 camholder. But Louis at usedcbxparts sent me a new one. I have still to plastigage it.
IMG_4472[1].JPG
EX Cam lobes are within spec, but IN lobes are 0,2 mm under spec, but all intakes lobes are within a few 100/mm from eachother. The lobes looks in good shape, i suspect someone have changed them for 1980 IN cams that have 0,2 mm less lift. Toughts from the panel on that is much appreciated?
IMG_4452[1].JPG
Head leaked on all ex valves but the inlets were better, its now at the machineshop. All valves and seats are worked on, head was warped 0,3 mm and a few helicoil inserts were added. Picture is before the headwork.
IMG_4648[2].JPG
Clutch plates and steeldisks looked good, but the bearing from clutch center plate were really bad. The "part" that sits inside the bearing has even hit the inside of the clutch shaft.
IMG_4631[1].JPG