Engine re-build question

Hey, what projects are you planning or preparing for? CBX, other motos, workshop, WHATEVAH!
pablotrini67
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Engine re-build question

Post by pablotrini67 »

Hello
I recently took on a 1979 CBX on which I am planning to do a frame-off restoration .The chassis was a roller but everything needs either re-building or replacing as the bike had sat outside & was exposed to the elements,there were a few missing items which I have been able to locate. The engine had been disassembled by the previous owner & came in boxes
My concern with re-building the motor is the project included a Forsetti 1147 cc big bore kit ,this engine is a very early motor SER #CB-1E-20022195
& has the straight cylinder head studs , which apparently were prone to breaking on the early engines ,not corrugated cylinder head studs ,The reason for wanting to re-bore is the cylinders 1 & 5 have a small area of scouring ,although I am no expert but just eye-balling the damaged cylinders I could probably get away with re-boring to 2nd over and stay away from the big bore .
Just wandering if this would be the best way to go and if it needs re-bore to 1147 cc does anyone have knowledge of the quality of the Forseti pistons.
Thx ,Paul
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

steve murdoch icoa #5322
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Re: Engine re-build question

Post by steve murdoch icoa #5322 »

Welcome to the site, Paul.
There are quite a few CBX owners in your area and on this site so help might be nearby.
Quick search didn't turn up anything about the Forseti pistons.

daves79x
ICOA Technical Director
ICOA Technical Director

Post by daves79x »

The serial number you posted would be for a very late '79. Did you add an extra digit? A smooth-stud engine would be under approx. 3200.

Dave

pablotrini67
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Post by pablotrini67 »

Ooops, You are correct the SER # is in fact CB-1E-2002195 . 3