Cam cover oil leak - newbie

xrdv8
New Member & Happy To Be Here

Cam cover oil leak - newbie

Post by xrdv8 »

Hey guys (and gals I'd guess),

I'm a CBX newbie who just bought a '79 with 25k miles on it. Nice overall condition. When I bought it the seller said the cam cover weeped a bit. Well more like a steady stream of oil that finds its way to your legs making it no fun to ride....

So I read in the forum that the first step is to replace the little chrome cam cover bolt seals with new ones. I did that today. As i loosened the cover bolts the cover would "pop" as if it were torqued down wrong initially or not seated properly previously. Before I finally removed the cover I noticed that little arm that goes between the front and rear cover had cracked right at the back of the front cover. The cover did not really want to come off but I persuaded it to.....

So I eagerly started it up and it leaked. I tightened up the bolts a little tighter until they bottomed but it still leaks from from the front corners. The larger cam cover seal still looked soft and pliable to me so i did not replace that initially.

My question is (if you have read this far) if should I just replace the larger seal now or have you guys seen the cam covers warp and I need to replace the cover itself? I put on the smaller cam cover end caps after i put on the new bolt seals if that matters.

Last note is that the bike may have been down on the right side as the fins appear to have been ground down a bit and perhaps tweaked the cam cover???...

All help appreciated!!

Maury

Several vintage motocross, street and flattrack bikes
H2
Norton 850
Triumph Hurricane
etc...

bobber01
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Re: Cam cover oil leak - newbie

Post by bobber01 »