broken clutch cover bolt new story

7mmBR
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

broken clutch cover bolt new story

Post by 7mmBR »

I tracked what I think may be a manageable oil leak to one of the lowest clutch cover bolt, broken off 2-3 threads beneath the mating surface. Enough to smoke on the pipes after 5 min running with 10W40. I gently snugged the others and could try to mitigate with 20W50....I have some experience removing small broken bolts in rifles but not aluminum. Guessing same approach but heck of a lot easier to stray from centre. My approach would be centre punch, centre drill and extract, maybe some heat too. Or is heli-coil the more likely outcome?Should be able to centre punch well before removing cover.feels like that's a through-hole which I think could help a lot, maybe could drill it through and tap for next size up
Last edited by 7mmBR on Sun Mar 08, 2020 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daves79x
ICOA Technical Director
ICOA Technical Director

Re: broken clutch cover bolt

Post by daves79x »

Those do break sometimes. I've had good luck center-punching them, drilling until most of the threads are out, then tapping the remainder of the debris out. You can usually then just use the correct bolt and it wil tighten up OK.

Dave

7mmBR
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Post by 7mmBR »

Thanks, hate to admit it occurred to me you could drill it right through without removing cover and put a nut on the back! But I won't do that. But I will try to run this season without fixing it.

daves79x
ICOA Technical Director
ICOA Technical Director

Post by daves79x »

It really is an easy fix. Think you could do it in under an hour.

Dave

CBX1000chris
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Post by CBX1000chris »

I've sometimes found the the broken bolt is a slack fit in the hole and with a scriber working on the end of the bolt, and patience, I can turn out the remains of the bolt. A little heat and penetrating oil helps get it started.
Chris.

7mmBR
Forum Regular