Exhaust Question

koffey25
New Member & Happy To Be Here

Exhaust Question

Post by koffey25 »

I am new to the cbx crowd due to my recent aquistion of a 79 CBX. I am looking to do some mods on my CBX including exhaust. I want to keep the stock exhaust system from the headers down the the collectors. I was wondering if there is some type of can/pipe that would fit the cbx with minimal modifications to the stock exhaust. Can anyone help me out?

Thanks
koffey

SteveG
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by SteveG »

Welcome!

I haven't done any exhaust modifications and am no expert, but the CBX exhausts are one, long complete tube. Any type of can replacement means cutting up the stocker.

Have fun!

Steve

alimey4u2
ICOA Web Video Director
ICOA Web Video Director

Post by alimey4u2 »

If they're in good shape, don't touch them, seal them in oil & fit an aftermarket set....
ICOA # 656

koffey25

Post by koffey25 »

Thinking about getting a set of Delkevic Mufflers for a CBR 1100....can get them off of ebay for $300 for the set brand new...there is guna need to be some fabrication done with the collector pipe but they do come with a link pipe....has anyone had experience with this brand? What do you think?

Thanks
Koffey

alimey4u2
ICOA Web Video Director
ICOA Web Video Director

Post by alimey4u2 »

Don't try to re-invent the wheel koffey25, plenty of variations more suitable out there now.... :wink:
ICOA # 656

80 cbx dude #6216
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by 80 cbx dude #6216 »

I agree with alimey4u2(Larry).If your original exhaust is ok buy another and stash the original for another day.I've got my Original exhaust haning in my basement where is warm and dry.If I ever went back to stock I still have it.-Mike

Don
Amazing Poster
Amazing Poster

Post by Don »