DG six to one power loss

quincydubois
New Member & Happy To Be Here

DG six to one power loss

Post by quincydubois »

Hey, you DG six to one experts! Just put some on my '79 and I have a significant amount of power loss with 'flat' spots throughout the RPM range. In fact, at 4000-4500 RPM it won't pull in 5th and acts like it is gas starved. I did not think jet/carb changes were necessary with these pipes. Not so?

alimey4u2
ICOA Web Video Director
ICOA Web Video Director

Post by alimey4u2 »

quincydubois, Any other mods like separate filter pods ?? I'm no expert on DG but a few guys are here & will soon contribute....
ICOA # 656

steve murdoch icoa #5322
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by steve murdoch icoa #5322 »

I have a set on my '80.
The bike has no jetting changes and the airbox remains intact. It pulls cleanly in all rev ranges with no flat spots. When i first installed the pipe i also dropped in a new and misted K&N air filter in the stock airbox. That simple mod produced a mid range flat spot. Kept the pipe and went back to the stock filter and all was well.

EMS
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by EMS »

Like posted in the other thread: The 6-1 has a reputation of being the worst exhaust for the CBX as far as performance is concerned. The only people who argue with that are those who sell it.

quincydubois

mods and DG exhaust ...

Post by quincydubois »

alimey4u2
Nope, no mods, box stock except the new DG exhaust ...

alimey4u2
ICOA Web Video Director
ICOA Web Video Director

Re: mods and DG exhaust ...

Post by alimey4u2 »

quincydubois wrote:alimey4u2
Nope, no mods, box stock except the new DG exhaust ...
Hmmmmm........I too have found the CBX engine to be sensitive to exhaust changes, especially if the carbs are on the lean side....
ICOA # 656

EMS
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by EMS »