Choke

Littleeagle28
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Choke

Post by Littleeagle28 »

Hi

Have removed my carbs to clean, and found left side of choke butterfly not operating, and a spring seems to be unattached, how do I reattached it? It's in a tight position and can't really see what's going on, any clues would help a newbie here?
Ta

daves79x
ICOA Technical Director
ICOA Technical Director

Re: Choke

Post by daves79x »

It's tough to talk someone through reattaching that spring, let alone trying to write it. You really should separate the carb halves to do it, but the easiest way to tell you is that it's a mirror image of the other side. Look closely how the other side is attached and that's how you do the other one.

I'd also examine everything there closely - there's some reason the spring came loose - they just don't pop off.

Dave

Littleeagle28
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Post by Littleeagle28 »

daves79x wrote:It's tough to talk someone through reattaching that spring, let alone trying to write it. You really should separate the carb halves to do it, but the easiest way to tell you is that it's a mirror image of the other side. Look closely how the other side is attached and that's how you do the other one.

I'd also examine everything there closely - there's some reason the spring came loose - they just don't pop off.

Dave
Thanks Dave

It may have popped off with me turning the carbs around to clean them. I have now managed to locate it on a spindle, even though I still couldn't see the mirror version. It now operates properly. Now just need to pretend to know what I am doing to clean the carbs
Ta
Arnie

steve murdoch icoa #5322
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by steve murdoch icoa #5322 »

Arnie, hopefully you have the Mike Nixon carb cleaning manual?
The best money i have spent on my CBX.
http://www.motorcycleproject.com/motorc ... knook.html

Littleeagle28
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Post by Littleeagle28 »